Newbie Buying Supplies..

Decorating By allkidzmom1 Updated 1 Mar 2010 , 4:54pm by tesso

allkidzmom1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
allkidzmom1 Posted 26 Feb 2010 , 2:13pm
post #1 of 9

I am very new to cake decorating and trying to get some supplies, such as tips, feather weight bags etc. I have found a bargain thus far that I want to share. I bought:

56-piece cake decorating tips with a plastic carrying case included, Wilton 9" Angled Spatula, 1- 12" Featherweight decorating bag, & 1- 14" Featherweight decorating bag for $24.95 shipping included. These are all brand new and I found them on etsy dot com.

Now I need to stock up on some clear flavorings, I already have Vanilla, Buttercream and Almond. Any suggestions on where to get them at a reasonable price? I live in a small town with only Michael's for craft and baking supplies.

Any other suggestions on items you keep in stock that a newbie would need?

Share your bargains please.

8 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 26 Feb 2010 , 2:20pm
post #2 of 9

You should sign up for Michaels email and they'll send you coupons. That's the cheapest way to build up supplies. Vanilla, butter and almond flavorings are probably all you need at first...maybe lemon too. You can get the others if you need a specific flavor for a recipe. If you order some supplies online somewhere, get some Creme Bouquet.

I use the disposable bags. They're much tougher than they used to be and they're super convenient.

allkidzmom1 Posted 26 Feb 2010 , 2:39pm
post #3 of 9

Thank you so much for your suggestions. What is the Creme Bouquet for?

pattycakesnj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pattycakesnj Posted 26 Feb 2010 , 3:04pm
post #4 of 9

Try Christmas Tree shops for inexpensive tools, flavorings, cutters and sometimes good pans

AKS Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AKS Posted 27 Feb 2010 , 6:20pm
post #5 of 9