Gumpaste Figure Questions

Decorating By Odyssey Updated 3 Mar 2010 , 2:29pm by Odyssey

Odyssey Posted 25 Feb 2010 , 10:58pm
post #1 of 7

I'm planning a tiger cake somewhere in the next two weeks and I want to have a gumpaste tiger on the top, but I've never done figures before so I have a few questions.

1: Should I use a mix of fondant and gumpaste or just gumpaste?
2: If I want to paint on the colors what way can I do that? I've heard of using powder color mixed with alcohol or plain gel color, is that correct? Is one method better than another?
3: Should I use a skewer to help hold him together or will gum glue be enough?

Thanks in advance for the help, but there's still so much to learn!

6 replies
Loucinda Posted 25 Feb 2010 , 11:54pm
post #2 of 7

Don't use plain gel color, that takes forever to dry. Mix it with a high alcohol liquid (I use everclear - you can use gin, vodka, vanilla or lemon extract too)

You can use pieces of spagetti to help hold the limbs on, just make sure you tell whoever the cake is going to that they are in there.

All gumpaste will dry harder/quicker. Just make sure you knead it till it is satin smooth before making the tiger so you don't have "cracking" when it is dry.

Odyssey Posted 26 Feb 2010 , 2:00pm
post #3 of 7

Is there a ratio I should use for painting or is it just a "looks right" kind of thing?

Also do you have the same trouble painting a deep color as you do tinting the fondant or gumpaste? If so will multiple layers help or will it get too dark too quick? I'm making the assumption you should let layers dry before doing the next one.

Last one, should the figure be dry or fresh when painting?

Thanks soooo much.

Price Posted 26 Feb 2010 , 2:13pm
post #4 of 7