Competition Asking For Advice On Myspace..do You Give It???

Lounge By KKC Updated 5 Mar 2010 , 8:42pm by ShopGrl1128

KKC Posted 24 Feb 2010 , 4:43pm
post #1 of 22

Good morning/aftenoon

I'm sure some of you have been through this before, so I know you're going to give some good advice. Anywho, what do you do if your competition asks you for advice/tips/techniques/recipes etc.? I've had this cake stalker for a really long time (a few months) on myspace and we both do cakes in Florida...only shes about 15 miles from me. Every time i post a pic of a cake she'll send me an email wanting to know what i did and how i did it, what recipes i use!! I've given her a few tips that i learned on here and I've also given her a link to this website. But instead of coming here to gain more knowledge she comes and asks me (even though i'm still learning). She also suggested that we refer each other when the other cannot do the cake. I've seen her work and its ok and I don't want to send a client to someone whose work is just ok. I've told her that I already have a go to cake decorator when i can't take an order and she just doesn't get it.

So what do u all tell your competition when they ask for your advice? I thought about just blocking her profile! TIA

21 replies
Spuddysmom Posted 24 Feb 2010 , 4:54pm
post #2 of 22

Block her. You have already given her this website. Apparently, you do not have nor do you wish to have a relationship with her. Do you have time for this?

KKC Posted 24 Feb 2010 , 5:15pm
post #3 of 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spuddysmom

Block her. You have already given her this website. Apparently, you do not have nor do you wish to have a relationship with her. Do you have time for this?

I sure don't have time for it. I just blocked her. I know a mutual cake friend of mine on myspace has been having the same problem with this same person. I just find the whole thing strange and a bit "stalker-ish" thumbsdown.gif

Auryn Posted 24 Feb 2010 , 5:19pm