Modeling Chocolate

Decorating By grannymo Updated 1 Mar 2010 , 11:41pm by Jemoiselle

grannymo Posted 24 Feb 2010 , 12:52am
post #1 of 7

I made a bear out of rice crispie treats for the top of a baby cake & want to cover it with modeling chocolate. Any tricks before I start? I have the chocolate made in containers. Thanks for your help

6 replies
Jemoiselle Posted 24 Feb 2010 , 11:23pm
post #2 of 7

The best I've got thus far, employ the use of a heating pad to set the modeling chocolate on while working to ensure a smooth finish on the bear. Makes it easier to cover when it is NIIICE and soft. I am not an expert though by any means, I just love working with the stuff. Where are the vets eh?

Good luck!

Kitagrl Posted 24 Feb 2010 , 11:48pm
post #3 of 7

I have a question now that you guys brought it up....I tried making homemade modeling chocolate one time and followed a recipe...and it was ROCK HARD!!!! That or sticky and melting.

I've used premade modeling chocolate before so I know what its supposed to act like and this stuff I made was worthless.

Whats the best recipe with the best brand of chocolate to use? Like candy melts, or real chocolate?

Lee15 Posted 25 Feb 2010 , 12:43pm
post #4 of 7

I make my own modelling chocolate. I use Mike McCarey's recipe with chocolate disks. It will be like rock the next day - that's normal. Then you have to pop it in the microwave for a few secs (you don't want the oils to start coming out) to loosen it up and then knead and use it. I was also told that instead of putting it in the microwave, to use a rolling pin and pound it a bit - was not a big fan of this method.

Luckylurker Posted 26 Feb 2010 , 6:56am
post #5 of 7