Make Black Icing?

Decorating By pinky73 Updated 23 Feb 2010 , 9:31pm by Tiffany29

pinky73 Posted 22 Feb 2010 , 2:52pm
post #1 of 18

I'm REALLY new to this so please bear with me and my irritating questions. Does anyone have any tips on making good black icing? I use regular buttercream with half butter half shortening. I have some Wilton gel color but am considering ordering some Americolor that others rave about. I also use glaze on cookies and wondered if there is a different approach to making black in that case because of the thinner consistency. Does using a lot of color alter the taste of the icing? I usually stay away from deep dark colors out of fear that I won't get the result I am looking for, but it's time to put on my big girl pants and get with the program. Any tips or ideas you experianced pros have would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks, Laura

17 replies
candycakes51 Posted 22 Feb 2010 , 4:52pm
post #2 of 18

I am certainly no pro, but I was taught to make black icing by replacing about 1/3 of the powdered sugar in your buttercream recipe with powdered cocoa (the real stuff, not the "Quick" instant drink kind). This will darken your icing so that you don't have to use as much color. It works great for red as well. The color will darken as the icing sets so you should make your icing well ahead of starting your project.

Hope this helps.

pinky73 Posted 22 Feb 2010 , 5:38pm
post #3 of 18

What a great idea! I never thought of that but it makes lots of sense...thank you so much! I will give this a try!

Tiffany29 Posted 22 Feb 2010 , 5:55pm
post #4 of 18

To make black, I like to start with chocolate icing.

Ballymena Posted 23 Feb 2010 , 8:44am
post #5 of 18

Tiffany is right. If you use Dutch cocoa to make your chocolate icing it will be a really dark brown. This decreases the amount of black you have to add.

pinky73 Posted 23 Feb 2010 , 2:09pm
post #6 of 18