Why Is My Glace' Or Glaze Icing Blotchy?

Baking By princessandthepea Updated 22 Feb 2010 , 12:58pm by GeminiRJ

princessandthepea Posted 20 Feb 2010 , 4:14pm
post #1 of 4

Hi, This is my first time using glace' icing I have been a RI user. I found on Cakecental a lot of people suggested using and loved using glace' or glaze over RI. I do love the taste better. I was very dissapointed in the look. I woke up this morning to find they had splotches on them. I have read a lot this morning and I do know now my icing was too thin because it ran off the cookie if I tilted it. Is that why it was splotchy because it was too thin? I loved using it. It was so much easier than RI. I would like to try it again. Can anyone offer any help to a failed first timer? Thans so much!!! I have rad the post and ya'll are he most helpful people!!!!!

3 replies
GeminiRJ Posted 20 Feb 2010 , 6:05pm
post #2 of 4

I've only had problems with the finish of the glace when the house is cold. Glace just doesn't like to get cold! I've been adding brite white to the icing when I mix it up (about 5 drops for every cup of powdered sugar) and it seems to help. But I'll still get a faint "foxing" appearance. The more intense the color, the bigger the problem. I'm learning to accept it as a drawback to the icing. I can't wait for spring and some warmer weather!

princessandthepea Posted 22 Feb 2010 , 4:08am
post #3 of 4

First I just want to say your work is amazing!! i especially love the 3D cookies AWESOME!!! Thanks for your help! I will try it again and keep the house really warm or put them in a warm room. Have you ever put them in a cooled down oven to dry or would that even work? Thanks again!

GeminiRJ Posted 22 Feb 2010 , 12:58pm
post #4 of 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by princessandthepea