How Do I Make A Ladder Out Of Royal Icing For A Fire Truck?

Decorating By wguillot Updated 19 Feb 2010 , 11:22pm by Kiddiekakes

wguillot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wguillot Posted 19 Feb 2010 , 5:44pm
post #1 of 9

I am trying to make a ladder out of royal icing for a fire truck birthday cake. Any ideas on how to go about doing this? any tips would be MUCH appreciated!

8 replies
bridge72 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bridge72 Posted 19 Feb 2010 , 5:59pm
post #2 of 9

I'm a newbie also and my thoughts would be to trace the design of the ladder you want on plain white paper then cover with waxed paper and follow the design underneath. Let dry and then remove it carefully and apply it to your cake. HTH icon_smile.gif

cownsj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cownsj Posted 19 Feb 2010 , 6:00pm
post #3 of 9

I think I would try gumpaste or fondant instead. I may be wrong, but all I can imagine doing is to put waxed paper down on a cookie sheet, and using a large tip, pip it out and really let it set up. But I'm thinking that any large piece like that, especially with such small areas covered, it will be very fragile and likely to break. Good luck with it. Will it be secured to the side of a fire truck or another surface? In that case, maybe just pipe directly onto the surface it will be attached to.

mullett Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mullett Posted 19 Feb 2010 , 6:06pm
post #4 of 9

If the royal icing will have time to dry put it over spaghetti or linguine noodles laid out to minic a ladder. This will make the ladder stronger.

KHalstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KHalstead Posted 19 Feb 2010 , 6:19pm
post #5 of 9

I would be inclined to make it out of candy melts, fast drying and very sturdy!

ChefAngie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ChefAngie Posted 19 Feb 2010 , 6:24pm
post #6 of 9