My Buttercream "bleeds" Sometimes, What Am I Doing

Decorating By katies_cakes Updated 20 Feb 2010 , 9:49am by Traceyelizabeth

katies_cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
katies_cakes Posted 18 Feb 2010 , 4:05pm
post #1 of 20

Hello everyone im katie. im new to this site and to cake decorating. (i only started 4months ago) im from england and having a few problems due to being compleatly self taught and i hope someone may be able to help me. occasionaly my buttercream will "bleed" after being applyed to a cake, but it doesnt happen everytime. i ensure that the cakes are always compleatly cooled before applying. can anyone help?

19 replies
2SchnauzerLady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2SchnauzerLady Posted 18 Feb 2010 , 4:25pm
post #2 of 20

Hi - Welcome to CC! You'll find a lot of members here from the UK. (Not me)
The buttercream that bleeds, is it a dark color? Have you noticed a difference between dark and light colors? Also, please let us know how you make your buttercream so we can help you.

katies_cakes Posted 18 Feb 2010 , 4:41pm
post #3 of 20

It has happend with both dark and light coloured buttercream before. i use soft butter (stork, its designed for cake making) and double the weight of icing sugar to butter and cream them together, then add colour/flavoring as needed. and sometimes the butter oozes out and forms puddles on the surface of the cake. x

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 18 Feb 2010 , 6:00pm
post #4 of 20

So the bleeding you are talking to isn't one color bleeding on to another color, like black bleeding into the white, but the actually icing is doing something odd?

ayerim979 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ayerim979 Posted 18 Feb 2010 , 6:18pm
post #5 of 20

I sorry for my dumbness.. But when you mean bleeding is it coming out of the middle as like your filling si coming out?

also how ling are you letting your cakes rest before applying icing?