No Idea About This! Gumpaste Carnations Pricing

Decorating By young9 Updated 19 Feb 2010 , 3:00pm by kansaslaura

young9 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
young9 Posted 17 Feb 2010 , 5:30pm
post #1 of 14

Up to this point, I've really only made cakes for friends and family. I was asked the other day to make gumpaste carnations to top cupcakes for a wedding and she wants to know how much I'll charge for that. I won't be making the cupcakes, only the carnations to top them with and I really have no idea. I bought all the things needed to make them but I've never done gumpaste before. I purchased the wilton gumpaste powder stuff in the canister and was going to do a trial run here soon just to see how difficult they are. Do you guys charge per carnation or how do you figure it out. I've never done it before so I don't really think I can go by time since its probably going to take me longer. I'm also scared she is going to freak when I tell her the cost regardless..she is one of those, "we are already over budget" type people.
Thanks for your help!

oh and she said around 300 cupcakes.

13 replies
sadsmile Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sadsmile Posted 17 Feb 2010 , 5:53pm
post #2 of 14

Haha 300 carnations for someone on a budget that doesn't want to pay. And you haven't made any yet... each flower can take you 5 minutes and that is being quick. Add that time up and the cost for your materials guessing you will need that whole can and then some and about 5lbs or more of powdered sugar to make them all... 300= $$$
I would send her to a website that sells ready made RI and gum paste flowers and say, "Bu-bye."

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 17 Feb 2010 , 6:12pm
post #3 of 14

I'm not sure you want the stress of making carnations x300 plus extras to allow for breakage especially when you have never made them. When is the wedding?