I Don't Know What To Do With My Life

Lounge By bea30 Updated 16 Feb 2010 , 10:55pm by bea30

bea30 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bea30 Posted 16 Feb 2010 , 7:23pm
post #1 of 10

I don't know if this is the appropriate place to post this. I just need some advice, insight, etc. I have been trying to figure out what to do with myself and lately have loved cake decorating. I was leaning towards catering but I find myself thinking about cakes all the time. I took the servsafe class and am certified in the sanitation and safety aspect. I have been practicing making cakes for about 6 months at home. Now what? Do I get a job? There isn't a lot out there. What do I do with myself? My kids are getting older and I need to do something. Just don't know where to start.

Has anyone been in this position? Insights? Suggestions?

9 replies
Kimmers971 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kimmers971 Posted 16 Feb 2010 , 7:48pm
post #2 of 10

Sorry I can't offer any real advise, but I wish you lots of luck in whatever you choose. I too love cake decorating (and baking) but feel that right now I could not make a living at it. So it's my side thing, plus here in NJ I can't legally sell from home. Maybe someday I'll be able to do it for a living icon_smile.gif

Kitagrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kitagrl Posted 16 Feb 2010 , 7:49pm
post #3 of 10

I'm sure there's a caterer or something around you that could hire you on! Then you can get a feel for it and see if its something you want to do the rest of your life, or even start your own business or not....many caterers also do cakes.

Spuddysmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Spuddysmom Posted 16 Feb 2010 , 8:14pm
post #4 of 10