Does Anyone Wash Their Dowels....

Decorating By Kellbella Updated 14 Feb 2010 , 11:37pm by BecuzImAGurl

Kellbella Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kellbella Posted 14 Feb 2010 , 4:33pm
post #1 of 13

wooden dowel rods before inserting into a cake? detective.gifI'm talkin about the main dowel rod through the center of your cake. I use bubble tea straws within the tiers. Maybe it's just me, but I like to wipe them down with a clorox sanitizing wipe and let them dry. The thought of how many other peoples hands have touched them before I bought them is gross...maybe it's because I work in a hospital and am a clean freak! Just wondering if anyone else does this or has a suggestion.

12 replies
psmith Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
psmith Posted 14 Feb 2010 , 4:45pm
post #2 of 13

I was wondering that too. I only get my dowels from food service retailers but I was thinking of coating the wooden dowels in white chocolate or canning wax. I'd like to know what others are doing or think about the subject.

psmith Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
psmith Posted 14 Feb 2010 , 4:48pm
post #3 of 13

I was wondering that too. I only get my dowels from food service retailers but I was thinking of coating the wooden dowels in white chocolate or canning wax. I'd like to know what others are doing or think about the subject.

bobwonderbuns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bobwonderbuns Posted 14 Feb 2010 , 4:59pm
post #4 of 13

I wipe them down with a rag full of hot soapy water. I don't want chlorox or anything like that leaching into the wood.

Bluehue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bluehue Posted 14 Feb 2010 , 5:02pm
post #5 of 13

Yes i wash mine.
Never know what has walked over it or as you say - who has touched it. icon_surprised.gif

I just wash mine in Dish Detergant - rinse in boiling water and allow to dry for a day - then pop into a low oven to completley dry out.

maybe it's because I work in a hospital and am a clean freak!