A Few Questions About Bakery In The Future...

Business By sugarlicious Updated 15 Feb 2010 , 1:20am by kaat

sugarlicious Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarlicious Posted 14 Feb 2010 , 2:12pm
post #1 of 10

Hi everyone, my husband and I have been talking about starting a small custom bakery in maybe about a year. Which will give me another year of cake experience too. I am just in the research stage right now business plan will follow. We were thinking about building a small building next to our home on our property, with bathroom, small consulting area and kitchen, office is not important because I have that in my home which is close. There is a market for custom cakes here, there is no other as far as I know within 100 kilometer radius, with a large population within here and there. I am now only doing cakes for family and friends but have gotten alot of calls regarding cakes and have told them I am only a hobby baker. A few questions I would like to ask are, what kind of insurance would I have to have for the bakery, how big of a building do you think would be sufficient, just something small and efficient with me and probably another employee, for the large appliances would be better to check for restaurants that are closing or hotels, etc. or buy new, I wanted to start getting all this information now so that within a year I can be well prepared. I have been soaking in all the wonderful information here on the boards and what I can find on the internet. Any information that you can give me to help would be greatly appreciated icon_biggrin.gif

9 replies
minicuppie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
minicuppie Posted 14 Feb 2010 , 2:26pm
post #2 of 10