Complete Newbie -Want To Make Bug Cookies

Baking By Pickulz Updated 7 Feb 2010 , 3:33pm by xiswtsawluiix

Pickulz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pickulz Posted 7 Feb 2010 , 8:41am
post #1 of 6

I wanted to make some bug cookies for a party that is coming up for kids.
The theme is 'Ugly bug ball'...and I was hoping to maybe make ladybug, bees or caterpillars or snails..whatever is easiest..or maybe a combo.

Please help out a newbie here!

1. What is the best recipe to use (NFSC) and which Icing is best?

2. I dont have many cookie cutters? Im thinking i can use an oval one for a ladybug, but what about a snail or a caterpillar? Any ideas?

3. Any tips/tricks for cookies? Its for this Thursday..

5 replies
cindy58 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cindy58 Posted 7 Feb 2010 , 10:58am
post #2 of 6

Wilton has a set of bug cookie cutters:

http://www.wilton.com/store/site/product.cfm?id=5267B105-802D-F658-086B6015FFE920B6&fid=5267B114-802D-F658-036667D5426790C4

I'm pretty sure that I have seen that set in Michaels, Joanns, or Meijers before. Check those places out.

Here's a couple of tutorials (recipes in there too) if you think you might want to try Glace' icing.

http://www.ourbestbites.com/2008/12/tutorial-glace-icing-and-cookie.html

http://www.ourbestbites.com/2009/02/tutorial-valentine-sugar-cookie-pops.html

brincess_b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brincess_b Posted 7 Feb 2010 , 11:33am
post #3 of 6

if you dont want to buy the cutter set...
ladybug - as you say, oval or round will work. think that would work for bees too - you could add some extra dough at the top for a wing shape.
catapiller - id just roll a sausage and flatten it.
snail - could do a round, and stick on a sausage for the neck/ head. or roll out a longer sausage, wind it into a circle for the body, leaving a bit for the neck/head.

sugar cookies are always good - a lot of people like nfsc, i use peggy porchens recipe, but really, theres not much difference.