Difficulties With Template Vs Fondant

Decorating By Antneno Updated 8 Feb 2010 , 3:21am by mfruchey

Antneno Posted 6 Feb 2010 , 4:29pm
post #1 of 9

I'm relatively new to the world of fondant cake making and in the spirit of the Super Bowl, I'm almost done another cake....BUT.....
Can anyone give me suggestions on cutting the Fleur de Lis using a template? I attempted to cut one last night from a template, but found that the fondant is too plyable. It came out looking NOTHING like the Fleur de Lis . I considered attempting to cool the fondant in the freezer, and then cut the template. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

8 replies
mfruchey Posted 6 Feb 2010 , 5:01pm
post #2 of 9

What are you using to cut your fondant? I used a card stock fleur de lis template and cut it with an Exacto knife and didn't have much trouble.

I've heard that some people use Tylose to firm up their fondant, but I don't know much about it and don't know if it would help in this instant. I'd be worried about condensation with putting it in the fridge or freezer, though.

kcassano Posted 6 Feb 2010 , 5:56pm
post #3 of 9

try letting your fondat sit so it has time to firm up a bit. you dont want it completely dry, but just a bit. roll it out, wait a little bit and then try cutting. I use an exacto knife too. just dont do it on your rolling mat, unless you want to have to buy a new one like me. argh. doh! icon_smile.gif

Antneno Posted 6 Feb 2010 , 6:17pm
post #4 of 9

Thanks for the imput! I thought of letting it sit and dry out a bit too, but by that time of the night, I was frustrated and went to bed! ARGH!
I tried a few different knives. A razor blade, a small paring knife, a steak knife, a dinner knife, with my Fleur still looking more like a stretched twisted mess. At this rate...No One will be able to tell who I'm cheering for in the Super Bowl! lol

Bakingangel Posted 6 Feb 2010 , 7:46pm
post #5 of 9