Dartboard Cake - Logistics Question

Decorating By rcolson13 Updated 6 Feb 2010 , 1:48pm by rcolson13

rcolson13 Posted 5 Feb 2010 , 6:16pm
post #1 of 8

I've been asked to make a dartboard cake. The customer wants it as close to a real dart board as possible so the cake will be 16" in diameter. What's the best way for me to get this design on the cake given my little experience? I'm pretty new to cake decorating (only 10 or so cakes under my belt, but I have worked with royal icing, fondant and FBCT). I was thinking an FBCT might work, but I don't know if it's wise to make one as big as I need it.

While I'm posting, I was also wondering if icing with cream cheese in it has to be refrigerated. I'm thinking that might dry out my cake

Thanks!
LL

7 replies
BlakesCakes Posted 5 Feb 2010 , 11:41pm
post #2 of 8

I look at that and it screams fondant to me for a really clean, sharp look.

I'd put down a layer of black fondant for the outer circle, then a layer of white for the inner circle with the triangles. etc. I'd extrude gray "lines" and white numbers and piece in bits of red & green.

I, personally, would be very leery of a 16" FBCT.

HTH
Rae

mrsb37 Posted 6 Feb 2010 , 12:45am
post #3 of 8

Fondant all the way. No question.

Yes, you should refrigerate Cream Cheese icing.

rcolson13 Posted 6 Feb 2010 , 1:35am
post #4 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlakesCakes

I look at that and it screams fondant to me for a really clean, sharp look.

I'd put down a layer of black fondant for the outer circle, then a layer of white for the inner circle with the triangles. etc. I'd extrude gray "lines" and white numbers and piece in bits of red & green.

I, personally, would be very leery of a 16" FBCT.

HTH
Rae

Sorry, I'm a little confused. Are you talking about having two layers of fondant with white underneath the black? Would I hand paint the white fondant the red and green?
Yeah a 16" FBCT would probably be a little much huh icon_rolleyes.gif