Need Help On A Slippers And Pipe Cake

Decorating By wevskysgirl1 Updated 6 Feb 2010 , 5:59pm by wevskysgirl1

wevskysgirl1 Posted 5 Feb 2010 , 11:21am
post #1 of 5

hi all , im new to cake decorating , i want to make a slippers and pipe cake for my husbands birthday as he keeps saying he's getting old lol , im not sure if i should go life size with the slippers as individual cakes and make a fondant pipe , or if i should make tiny slippers and pipe and put them on a simple square or round cake .
any help much appreciated icon_biggrin.gif

4 replies
Renaejrk Posted 5 Feb 2010 , 7:56pm
post #2 of 5

It depends on how comfortable you are - but at least it's for your hubby and not a client, so you could get away with imperfection - lol! Slippers wouldn't be too difficult, if you are comfortable with carving and covering odd shapes with fondant. Otherwise, I would do a round and make small ones out of fondant.

dandelion56602 Posted 6 Feb 2010 , 5:33am
post #3 of 5

Now is t time to PRACTICE! I always challege myself on dh's cakes and do a technique I haven't done (like this coming week!). It's great. I learn something new, what I would do different, how long it would take for someone else's cake, updates my portfolio. And if it flops (like my first topsy turvy) it still tastes good I learned and he doesn't care icon_smile.gif. Shoot for the stars!

kjt Posted 6 Feb 2010 , 12:31pm
post #4 of 5

Hi, and welcome to CC!

I agree with dandelion - what a great time to practice.

If you decide to make the larger sized slippers, bake your cakes in an oval pan, then you have a good start at the basic shape.

Good luck with your cake, happy birthday to hubby, and

Happy Cakin' icon_biggrin.gif

wevskysgirl1 Posted 6 Feb 2010 , 5:59pm
post #5 of 5

thanks guys thumbs_up.gif , i think im going to go big and bold lol ..... and it means i have a ready made excuse to go shopping and get some more cake decorating stuff as im working with the bare basics .. well thats my excuse lol