1 Or 2 Pieces For Fondant Pillow Cake

Decorating By LoriMc Updated 9 Jun 2010 , 7:23am by jomc

LoriMc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LoriMc Posted 4 Feb 2010 , 4:05am
post #1 of 6

I think I can hack the carving part. What I am worried about is the fondant. I do mostly all buttercream cakes, but I realize this one needs to be fondant.

The pillow cake instructions on this site uses on large piece of fondant to cover the entire cake. I've watched a youtube where she covered the bottom half then flipped the cake to cover the top half.

Which way is the best????

5 replies
Melnick Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Melnick Posted 4 Feb 2010 , 6:31am
post #2 of 6

Lindsay Smith says to do it like the youtube video. It will give a much better better finish if you do it in the two parts.

Jeep_girl816 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jeep_girl816 Posted 4 Feb 2010 , 6:44am
post #3 of 6

I have no experience with pillow cakes but I have worked with fondant. I think it would be way easier, less stressful to do it the way they're suggesting, in two parts, top and bottom then cover the seam with a nice rope or even just a rolled piece of fondant. You could even use real fabric trim if you're sick of fondant by then icon_smile.gif

LoriMc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LoriMc Posted 4 Feb 2010 , 2:39pm
post #4 of 6

I don't work with fondant a whole lot, and I was worrying it was going to fall off the bottom due to gravity! Surely it will stay glued to the buttercream underneath?

Jeep_girl816 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jeep_girl816 Posted 4 Feb 2010 , 3:55pm
post #5 of 6

Don't worry, if you attach it with buttercream or ganache, it'll stick just fine. icon_smile.gif

jomc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jomc Posted 9 Jun 2010 , 7:23am
post #6 of 6