Fleur De Lis In Fondant

Decorating By Torts Updated 8 Feb 2010 , 11:28pm by Torts

Torts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Torts Posted 4 Feb 2010 , 3:09am
post #1 of 14

I'm making a Super Bowl cake this weekend for the Saints... I bought a fleur de lis shaped cake pan to use on the second tier, but now I'm unsure how the fondant will mold to this particular shape. I've only really tried it on round and square cakes, so I'm nervous I won't be able to mold the fondant into all the cracks and crevaces... any suggestions? Is it even possible to fondant such an intricate shape?

Thanks!

13 replies
luvanrs50 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luvanrs50 Posted 4 Feb 2010 , 5:08am
post #2 of 14

I'm not an expert, but recently put fondant on my first 'shape' other than a round or square cake. It was a guitar shape. Really the only difference was to just smooth it down in all of the curves with your fingers and kind of stretch it in some places to make it not pucker. I don't know if this helps, but I'm sure it will turn out fine. I'm also making a saints superbowl cake tomorrow. Good luck!

mfruchey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mfruchey Posted 4 Feb 2010 , 10:03pm
post #3 of 14

I guess there will be a lot of us!

I've got a tiered Saints cake for a co-worker's birthday due tomorrow. I did my baking last night and have the decorating tonight. I have many, many little fleur-de-lis to cut out of fondant to apply to the cake. I didn't find a cutter, so I have to use a template. icon_sad.gif

I think your cake should cover fine as long as you don't put the buttercream too thick underneath.

As the previous poster said, just make sure to gently press the fondant into all of the little crevices.

Good luck! I'd like to see the finished product. I bet all of us Saints fans could fill a whole gallery worth with our Superbowl-related cakes!

Torts Posted 4 Feb 2010 , 10:50pm
post #4 of 14