How Hard Is Fbct?

Decorating By whisperingmadcow Updated 14 Feb 2010 , 3:53pm by aundrea

whisperingmadcow Posted 3 Feb 2010 , 2:36am
post #1 of 19

How hard is it to do a frozen buttercream transfer? I have a spiderman cake I want to do for my sister this weekend and I saw a video on how to set them up. But I am a little nervous as I have never done it before.

Is it very hard? icon_confused.gif Does anyone have any tips or pointers? Does the BC set up pretty well? Once it comes to room temp, is it more likely to break well transporting? Any advise is welcome!!! thumbs_up.gif

18 replies
prterrell Posted 3 Feb 2010 , 2:46am
post #2 of 19

very easy icon_biggrin.gif

BethHansen Posted 3 Feb 2010 , 3:22am
post #3 of 19

I've done a couple of them. They are very easy to do, but take forever! Just make sure you give yourself plenty of time and be prepared for your piping hand to get very sore.

Make sure your cake is iced and ready so you can flip the fbct onto your cake as soon as you pull it out of the freezer. Once it thaws, which only takes a few minutes, it behaves just like any other buttercream iced cake.

Good luck!

poohsmomma Posted 3 Feb 2010 , 2:27pm
post #4 of 19

The first one I ever did was a spiderman. It takes a while to pipe all those spider lines and fill them in, but it's really very easy. I told my niece that I made the cake for that it was so easy she could have done it.

HTH. Good luck and post pix.

TexasSugar Posted 3 Feb 2010 , 3:48pm
post #5 of 19

I'd say it isn't hard at all. Of course when my students ask me if it is easy or hard to do something they never believe me when I say it is easy. They say everything is easy to me. Not true, of course, but they have a point. It is hard to judge what is hard or easy for someone else.

I've done many of these over the years. The hardest was the FFA Emblem in my photos. That one took me almost 2 hours the first time because of all the detail lines being piped in such a small tip.