First Timer Needs Advice.

Decorating By bullet09 Updated 3 Feb 2010 , 12:59am by kiwigal81

bullet09 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bullet09 Posted 2 Feb 2010 , 11:06pm
post #1 of 11

I have just started this new hobby in Oct 09. I have fell in love with it. I am self taught and have only picked up new ideas and techniques on TV shows and internet. I know tools make a big difference and I starting to get my share of some. Is there any advice or tips out there you guys can share for a beginer. I appriciate it very much. Thank you in advance.

10 replies
adventuregal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
adventuregal Posted 2 Feb 2010 , 11:20pm
post #2 of 11

thats awesome that you are into cake decorating! You will like CC because we are all addicted to it icon_biggrin.gif How did you get into the hobby?
Lets see-when I first started I took Wilton classes at my local Michaels and that did help-they have 4 classes and its pretty cheap. Books and CC are also great for advice and creative ideas. As far as tools the must haves for me are my turntable, my leveler, tips in all sizes and decorating bags, and I always keep a stock of ingredients to make frostings and fondant. Once you get further along its really nice to have tools to help you make different types of flowers and stencils to make cool designs etc...
As far as books-if you are a baker that uses a cake mix I would definitely check out the Cake Mix Doctor-its a book that extends the recipes and gives you made from scratch flavor.
there is ALOT of info on here-I credit CC to making me what I am today so I hope you have alot of fun and keep posting so we can see your progress icon_smile.gif

dstbni Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dstbni Posted 2 Feb 2010 , 11:22pm
post #3 of 11