Ingredient Labeling For Wedding Cakes?

Business By Tellis12 Updated 3 Feb 2010 , 2:36am by Loucinda

Tellis12 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tellis12 Posted 1 Feb 2010 , 5:02pm
post #1 of 12

Since I'm a cottage baker I have to have all of my goods labeled. If I deliver it in a box, I can just put a label on the box, but with a wedding cake, there's no box. What am I supposed to do?

11 replies
costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 1 Feb 2010 , 5:04pm
post #2 of 12

I take a piece of paper with all of the cutting instructions, detail of flavors on each tier, etc. I include a list of allergens with the list, so if you wanted to do that and just make sure you give it to the person who will be cutting the cake they can anwser any questions that the guests would have.

loriemoms Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
loriemoms Posted 1 Feb 2010 , 5:04pm
post #3 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tellis12

Since I'm a cottage baker I have to have all of my goods labeled. If I deliver it in a box, I can just put a label on the box, but with a wedding cake, there's no box. What am I supposed to do?

I would ask your health department, etc, how they handle those kinds of cakes. Maybe put them on a little card and hand it to the venue?

cheatize Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cheatize Posted 2 Feb 2010 , 5:28am
post #4 of 12

Bottom of the bottom cake board? Give them a small box for leftovers with the label on it? Attached to the delivery sheet?

Just tossing some ideas out there.

Deb_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Deb_ Posted 2 Feb 2010 , 1:16pm
post #5 of 12

If there's no box, how do you deliver? Is the cake just placed in the van/vehicle as is?

Just wondering...

I do as costumeczar and include it on the cutting guide.

Loucinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Loucinda Posted 2 Feb 2010 , 1:32pm
post #6 of 12