In Need Of Advice.....

Decorating By noahsmummy Updated 1 Feb 2010 , 10:17am by noahsmummy

noahsmummy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
noahsmummy Posted 1 Feb 2010 , 8:41am
post #1 of 4

Hi,

I am just beginning to get started with cake decorating ( have a look at my photos to see what i can do so far... haha). I think ive mastered ginger bread houses, have been making them for a few years now, and have always loved baking.. you could say its in my blood..have 3 pastry chefs in my family already..lol.

Anyway, what i wanted to know is, what tools do you recommend getting? Im on a very very tight budget (single mummy studying as well.. ) but a few people have recommended i do this as a side business.. i do not feel like im nearly close to that level.. (the cakes on here are AMAZING!!!!! thumbs_up.gif ) So anyway, im doing as many practise cakes as i can atm, have 3 to do this month.. which im pretty excited about! have mastered techniques that dont require special euip.. ie, royal icing tiaras.. icing with buttercream.. etc etc.

Buuuut. im keen to learn about fondant and sugartcraft (gumpaste flowers etc). But every tutorial i see needs all these different tools. =/
So, just wondering if you can make do without some, and just get the main ones? if so, what are the main ones? haha. so far i have 2 p[iping bags, a few different sized star and round nozzles, a #70, #104 and #366 tip.

im sorry for this huge rant, but i get so inspired looking at everyones gorgeous work! i just want to get right into it too!

any suggestions much appreciated..thanks heaps. icon_smile.gif

3 replies
Evoir Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Evoir Posted 1 Feb 2010 , 9:39am
post #2 of 4

Hi Noahsmummy!