Smbc

Decorating By EvMarie Updated 30 Jan 2010 , 11:30pm by EvMarie

EvMarie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
EvMarie Posted 29 Jan 2010 , 11:22pm
post #1 of 9

I'm new to SMBC. I made it for the first time yesterday for my Mom's b-day cake. I used Martha Stewarts recipe.

(1) Are there any food safety issues?

(2) Anyone ever tried Splenda in it?

Thanks!

8 replies
_Jamie_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
_Jamie_ Posted 29 Jan 2010 , 11:34pm
post #2 of 9

If you have cooked your egg whites properly there is nothing to be concerned with. Treat it like food that is made with eggs.

No, I'm afraid Splenda would be disgusting and would not work.

EvMarie Posted 30 Jan 2010 , 12:05am
post #3 of 9

Love the avatar! Freaky....

Anyway, I guess why I'm asking about food safety is because I'm not sure how you know if you cooked them properly. I did what the book said exactly & the check points provided were all met. I think I'm just paranoid...

The book said the mixture should be completely smooth in between my fingers. And, it should be warm. It was both. I had my stove top setting on a few notches below medium heat. When I lifted my bowl, steam came out of the pot...but what was not boiling. Does this sound right?

Bummer about the Splenda - my grandpa is diabetic. I thought it would be a nice alternative to berry pies and sugar free jello! Have you tried Splenda in the recipe? I know it's not the best tasting...but for him, it may be a decent taste.

MJoycake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MJoycake Posted 30 Jan 2010 , 12:28am
post #4 of 9