Question About Dark Colored Fondants.

Decorating By silentsunday Updated 29 Jan 2010 , 11:50pm by silentsunday

silentsunday Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
silentsunday Posted 28 Jan 2010 , 11:02pm
post #1 of 18

As soon as tax returns come in, my brother is paying for all my supplies to make his wedding cake. This is my gift to him. I've spent over a month researching everything I could. I'm new to fondant, though, so I'm going to get some Wilton's with a coupon and play with it to get a feel for it. I had planned on making my own fondant and coloring it, but one of the wedding colors is a dark purple color. I'm understanding that trying to get that color with pre-made might be difficult and could ruin the integrity of the fondant. I also understand that I have a pretty good chance of success by adding powdered color in with the powdered sugar during the process of making it. What I want to know involves staining. Will adding color during the process of making fondant eliminate the problem of staining mouths and teeth? If not, I'll have to break the news to my brother that he has to shell out more money for some Satin Ice.

17 replies
thecakemaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
thecakemaker Posted 28 Jan 2010 , 11:20pm
post #2 of 18

Satin Ice does cost a little more but it tastes much better than Wilton and you can roll it thinner to use - so, though it costs more - you'll use less of it. You can also try making a single batch of MMF - adding the color before adding your icing sugar to see if you can get the color you're looking for. MMF is easy to make and inexpensive. It also tastes good and is easy to work with. You can also flavor it during the mixing process using Lorrane flavors if you want for a different flavor.

Debbie

grandmagrossman Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
grandmagrossman Posted 28 Jan 2010 , 11:22pm
post #3 of 18