Need Black Chocolate Icing/frosting Recipe

Baking By CakeMommy78 Updated 28 Jan 2010 , 8:03pm by linstead

CakeMommy78 Posted 27 Jan 2010 , 8:24pm
post #1 of 11

I am going to be making a black Ford F-250 truck cake for my son's upcoming birthday. Does anyone have a recipe for black icing/frosting that sets up nicely and takes good? Thanks in advance! icon_smile.gif

10 replies
prterrell Posted 27 Jan 2010 , 8:26pm
post #2 of 11

Just add black gel food coloring to your favorite icing. Mine is IMBC. You don't need a separate icing recipe for each color.

CakeMommy78 Posted 27 Jan 2010 , 8:43pm
post #3 of 11

I've used the black gel coloring before and it seems to alter the taste a bit. Do you have any suggestions to avoid this? Sorry for all the questions, I'm still a bit of a novice at this icon_smile.gif

prterrell Posted 27 Jan 2010 , 9:13pm
post #4 of 11

It does, because of the large quantity you have to add. Which is why it is best to only use black in small amounts. If you want to cover a large area in black, it's best to use gray and then airbrush it black. Don't forget that colors, especially black and red, deepen as time goes by. I never get my icing true black when first mixing it. I am for a dark gray. By the time the cake is delivered, it's black ans black can be! Also, if you have a lot of black icing, all the people who eat the cake are going to be walking around with purplish-black stained lips, teeth, and tongue!

CakeMommy78 Posted 27 Jan 2010 , 9:55pm
post #5 of 11

First of all, thank you so much for all of your help! I know that the icing will cause everyone's lips, etc. to turn colors. I would use fondant, but I've never used it before and I'm afraid to use it on his cake without having tested it out before. Maybe I'll make up a batch and try it out prior to the b-day. Any suggestions/tips?

prterrell Posted 27 Jan 2010 , 10:17pm
post #6 of 11

Sorry, not on making fondant. I use pre-made (Satin Ice).