These Dummies Are Outsmarting Me!

Decorating By sweetlayers Updated 26 Jan 2010 , 6:28pm by TitiaM

sweetlayers Posted 26 Jan 2010 , 3:45pm
post #1 of 13

Of course I am speaking of cake dummies! icon_biggrin.gif

This is my first time covering dummies. For some reason, my fondant keeps tearing from the top. That never happens when I'm covering a real cake. Can anyone please tell me how to make it stop and offer me some pointers on how to conquer this 'simple' task? icon_cry.gificon_redface.gif

TIA

12 replies
greengyrl26 Posted 26 Jan 2010 , 3:53pm
post #2 of 13

Do your dummies have contoured edges are are they sharp? Mine are contour, and while it's a bit trickier than covering a real cake, my edges generally don't tear. The hardest part I have is keeping the dummy still while I try to cover it! Since they're so light, it wants to slide all over the place!

KHalstead Posted 26 Jan 2010 , 4:04pm
post #3 of 13

what are you using to adhere the fondant?? I usually just paint the dummies with corn syrup using a pastry brush and I brush the tops of the dummy too this way the fondant sticks right away be quick to push the fondant around the top edge on the side of the cake as soon as you get it on, that should help keep it secure so you won't get any tearing.

TitiaM Posted 26 Jan 2010 , 4:19pm
post #4 of 13

If you want the contoured look, you can use fine grit sandpaper around the edges of the dummy--it might help with the tearing too.

For me, it was partially just a matter of practice, though I do make the fondant a little thicker on a dummy than I would on a real cake. At first I found it more difficult to cover a dummy than a real cake, but now its definitely easier to cover the dummies...but I do a lot more dummy cakes than real cakes. Starting to ramble, sorry!

Good Luck icon_biggrin.gif

greengyrl26 Posted 26 Jan 2010 , 4:23pm
post #5 of 13