Any Certified Personal Trainers:

Lounge By GatuPR Updated 12 Feb 2010 , 11:58pm by mkolmar

GatuPR Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GatuPR Posted 26 Jan 2010 , 3:19pm
post #1 of 11

My son is 17 years old, be 18 in a couple of months, and wants to become a personal trainer. He will be taking a CPR/AED class in February at the Red Cross.

My question is, how do you know which personal training certificate to get? I searched personal training certification and got so many webpages. They have ACE, ISSA, NASM, AFTA, AFAA, ACSM, NFPT, etc.

Anyone with a certification that can help me figure out the differences and what our next step should be. Thank you.

10 replies
tracieudes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tracieudes Posted 26 Jan 2010 , 6:25pm
post #2 of 11

I am an ACE certified trainer. really any of the ones you listed are very creditable.

mkolmar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mkolmar Posted 26 Jan 2010 , 11:03pm
post #3 of 11

Way back in the day AFAA, but you have to keep up on stuff and I didn't once having kids. I use to personal train and teach aerobics. I started working part time in a gym a few years ago and am a fitness trainer. I can not personally train anyone. Fitness training is only showing the machines.
I sometimes consider going back and getting it. If I was to though I would do ACE instead of AFAA. AFAA is good but ACE is a little better.

ACSM is very hard to pass but it is considered the top when it comes to training certs. A few personal trainers have ACE certs. where I work and have went to advance to the ACSM. My boss was one of them. She said it was really hard but worth it.

GatuPR Posted 26 Jan 2010 , 11:42pm
post #4 of 11

Thank you so much tracieudes and mkolmar. I think I will order the books for the ACE and then have him decide if he wants another certificate later on.

If I can ask a couple more question, which of the bundles will you think is best? http://www.acefitness.org/getcertified/prepare_ptmaterials.aspx