Help With A Tiered Fondant Covered Cake

Decorating By mcampbell31 Updated 26 Jan 2010 , 8:20pm by mcampbell31

mcampbell31 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mcampbell31 Posted 26 Jan 2010 , 9:08am
post #1 of 16

I'm making my first fondant covered tiered cake for this weekend. I made my Michele Foster's Fondant tonight which came out GREAT! What I need to know is after I make my cakes, fill them and crumb coat it should I let the icing get hard before applying the fondant? I can't freeze it because I don't have space.

After I apply the fondant to each tier should I then put it back in the fridge before stacking? If I don't put it in the fridge before stacking will the fondant move around or even bulk up on each tier?

I really have no idea. I'm new to all this so i'm learning but need to know the best technique possible without having to freeze anything. Also being that the baby shower is Sat should I wait to Friday to stack because I don't even really have a ton of fridge space. Just trying to figure out how I should do this. Thanks In Advance.

15 replies
mcampbell31 Posted 26 Jan 2010 , 3:45pm
post #2 of 16

Also do I dowel my cakes before I cover with fondant? Once the cakes are covered do they have to go back in the fridge or can they sit out without the fondant getting to hard or the cake going stale?

mcampbell31 Posted 26 Jan 2010 , 3:55pm
post #3 of 16

Basically what is the step by step instructions on making a fondant tiered cake? My cake will only be 3 tiers. I should've just said that but last night it was so late I wasn't thinking straight.

FullHouse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FullHouse Posted 26 Jan 2010 , 4:07pm
post #4 of 16