John Deere Tractor

Decorating By JNElliott Updated 30 Jan 2010 , 11:27pm by JNElliott

JNElliott Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JNElliott Posted 23 Jan 2010 , 3:24am
post #1 of 19

How do I make a John Deere tractor with fondant. I've never done anything like this before and I need some serious help. I want to make an awesome John Deere cake for my son's third birthday which is coming up. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

18 replies
JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 23 Jan 2010 , 4:08am
post #2 of 19

Hi and Wecome to CC, JNElliott. icon_smile.gif

Everything you need to know to make, decorate and assemble tiered/stacked/layer cakes:

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-605188-.html

The above super thread has popular CC recipes for crusting American buttercreams, several types of fondant and doctored cake mix (WASC and other flavor variations) - and so much more!

You've not provided enough information to help with you with John Deere cake with any specificity...

Wilton tractor cake pan with decorating ideas:

http://www.wilton.com/store/site/product.cfm?sku=2105-2063

Tutorial on using a shaped pan to apply MMF to same:

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-611152-.html

Tractor cakes from CC photo galleries:

http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&meta=search&type=full&search=tractor&album=-&search_user=

If you see something you like in the galleries, and need help - just post again with a link to the cake you like.

HTH

JNElliott Posted 23 Jan 2010 , 4:28pm
post #3 of 19

Thank you for your help JanH!! I am very new to this and have no idea what I am doing!! lol.

Kitagrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kitagrl Posted 23 Jan 2010 , 4:35pm
post #4 of 19

My soon-to-be five year old is a huge John Deere fan, so I'll be figuring it out in March sometime!

JNElliott Posted 23 Jan 2010 , 5:28pm
post #5 of 19