Ever Been Asked To A "cattle Call" For An Event Pl

Business By jenmat Updated 22 Jan 2010 , 7:01pm by kiwigal81

jenmat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenmat Posted 21 Jan 2010 , 9:31pm
post #1 of 19

So I get this message from an event planner I have met a couple of times at some networking meetings. She has a couple who have showed interest in my cakes through my website, and as one of several they would like to meet with to discuss a possible cake.

This planner has a date, time, and location all set up and wants me to bring my materials and cake to her office and basically do a presentation for this bride and groom, kind of like a cattle call, or something you'd see on HGTV.
The date is this August, I already have two smaller weddings that weekend.

So, although I don't NEED the business, I am not technically booked either.
Has anyone ever done this? Its not like I need the business, but I don't want to appear uncooperative to this planner.

I've never worked with this planner before, but if I did, I'm not sure I want to make an hour trip every time she has a bride and groom who want to interview me and a bunch of others before they make their decision.

18 replies
LaBellaFlor Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LaBellaFlor Posted 21 Jan 2010 , 9:53pm
post #2 of 19

That is new to me and I'm not sure something I would be willing to do. So your looking at a 2 hour trip and that is an expense. Usually people come to meet the cake person, not the other way around. I guess it depends on how much you want the order. It would have to be a large order for me to drive that far and back. JMHO

cakesdivine Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesdivine Posted 21 Jan 2010 , 9:58pm
post #3 of 19