How Many Cakes Per Week Do You Make?

Decorating By lea74 Updated 22 Jan 2010 , 2:03am by Kiddiekakes

lea74 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lea74 Posted 21 Jan 2010 , 7:41pm
post #1 of 13

I was wondering how many cakes a week do you guys make on average. I'm just starting out and things are going kind of slow for me ( everybody is looking for cheaper cakes....) The most I had was four; this weekend I only have 2 cakes to do.
Also when you have more orders how do you keep yourself "organized" so you don't get behind?

12 replies
_Jamie_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
_Jamie_ Posted 21 Jan 2010 , 7:44pm
post #2 of 13

Whew! I won't take more than 1 or two, period. I spend a lot of time on each creation, and what I charge for one of mine is what a lot of people would get after 3 or 4 cakes...so the stress level is low, I make bank, and I get time to..........

do nothing. icon_biggrin.gif

_Jamie_ Posted 21 Jan 2010 , 7:45pm
post #3 of 13

Lea, ya got some fabulous cakes, btw. Hope you're making bank too and not knocking yourself out! icon_wink.gif

prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 21 Jan 2010 , 7:47pm
post #4 of 13

Um, I make about a cake a month. Sometimes two. Unless I'm expirementing with new recipes (which I will be doing more of shortly, taking a break right now after all the holiday baking), then it's a cake or more a day, but those aren't decorated. Heck, some of those go straight in the trash!

I used to do upwards of 40 a day, though (worked in Publix bakery).

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 21 Jan 2010 , 7:54pm
post #5 of 13

usually 3 or 4 a week

lea74 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lea74 Posted 21 Jan 2010 , 7:56pm
post #6 of 13