Using Cake Mixes From Boxes

Decorating By SallyBratt Updated 24 Jan 2010 , 2:03am by JanH

SallyBratt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SallyBratt Posted 21 Jan 2010 , 6:48pm
post #1 of 282

I was very surprised to see a lot of recipes calling for boxed mixes. Do you guys actually sell clients cakes that are made from store bought mixes? Isn't that kind of cheating your clients? Do you tell your clients that they're getting premade boxed cake mixes?

I don't mean to sound judgmental but I know that if I was paying a lot of money for a cake I would expect it to be made from scratch using all natural ingredients.

I'm just curious because I'm new to this business. To each their own, of course, but I know that I would never sell a client a cake from a box.

281 replies
prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 21 Jan 2010 , 6:52pm
post #2 of 282

Sits back with a nice big bowl of buttery popcorn and a tall, frosty Mr. Pibb.

pattigunter Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pattigunter Posted 21 Jan 2010 , 6:52pm
post #3 of 282

Oh geez - boy are you opening a can of worms!!!

greengyrl26 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
greengyrl26 Posted 21 Jan 2010 , 6:54pm
post #4 of 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by prterrell

Sits back with a nice big bowl of buttery popcorn and a tall, frosty Mr. Pibb.

Ha! Got enough to share with me? I'm gonna sit back and watch the fireworks with this one too!

Beckup Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Beckup Posted 21 Jan 2010 , 6:57pm
post #5 of 282

Can't wait to see where this one goes! icon_twisted.gif

2SchnauzerLady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2SchnauzerLady Posted 21 Jan 2010 , 7:02pm
post #6 of 282