Excited!

Business By jadedlogic Updated 19 Jan 2010 , 9:31pm by Mme_K

jadedlogic Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jadedlogic Posted 19 Jan 2010 , 4:31pm
post #1 of 8

I called City Hall today to find out about selling cakes from my home and spoke to several people and the by law office and they said it is illegal for any retail business to be conducted out of the home in my city, but I can bake them and deliver them. I asked if I need permits, licensing etc and they said no I just can't have the customer pick up the cakes.

So, if you see my cakes in my gallery I am just starting out doing cakes the only ones I have done are all shown in my gallery and I have only done them as gifts for family - but for the future I wanted to be sure if I choose too that this is something I can do icon_smile.gif

7 replies
LaBellaFlor Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LaBellaFlor Posted 19 Jan 2010 , 4:42pm
post #2 of 8

Hmmm. So you can't sell anything retail, but you can bake and deliver them? That makes no sense to me. So can you sell them? Or just bake cakes for other people? I'm just asking.

ladybug76 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ladybug76 Posted 19 Jan 2010 , 4:48pm
post #3 of 8

Sounds similar to my township. My home is zoned 'non-impact' business, which means I can conduct business within my home (baking/decorating the cakes); however, no customer traffic allowed (pick-ups, tastings, etc)so not to disturb the neighborhood! All my cakes must be delivered. I had to obtain a permit from the township ($35 per year) along with license from Department of Agriculture ($30 per year)... and walaaa.... now I have JaimeCakes!!!
Congrats to you!! Wish you all the best!
~ Jaime

LaBellaFlor Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LaBellaFlor Posted 19 Jan 2010 , 4:52pm
post #4 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by ladybug76