Make The Cut Or Sure Cuts A Lot?

Decorating By AngelaM Updated 14 Feb 2010 , 2:36am by zdebssweetsj

AngelaM Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AngelaM Posted 16 Jan 2010 , 4:06pm
post #1 of 11

So excited! My Cricut is being delivered on Monday! Does anybody have experience with both Make the Cut and SCAL who can recommend which one to buy? I understand that Make the Cut us newer but I've also read some posts that make it sound more user-friendly than SCAL. I definitely don't want anything so complicated that I get frustrated trying to figure it out. Any advice on which one I should buy?

10 replies
kevinmcc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kevinmcc Posted 16 Jan 2010 , 7:45pm
post #2 of 11

Let me start off and say that in my career, I'm a technology analyst who works with Macs and PCs. I help people who go from complete novice all the way up to experts themselves

I just got a Cricut this week and tested it last night from my computer. (Mac) Before I bought, I tested SCAL and was very pleased with interface. It was very simple to use existing fonts on the computer to type out phrases. It was also very easy to take any graphic in Adobe Illustrator, save it as an SVG file and then just place it onto the mat in SCAL for cutting.

I've no experience with Make the Cut, but even after a few days and now cutting a few stencils, I heartily recommend SCAL.

PS - Avoid buying those cartridges and using he Cricut button interface at all costs...In this day of computers-in-every home, it makes much more sense to do this from a computer. You can find and download from the internet a vast of array of (legally) free TTF fonts and various images to use.

AngelaM Posted 16 Jan 2010 , 8:08pm
post #3 of 11

Thanks kevinmcc. I don't have Adobe Illustrator. Do I need it or can I use any graphic I find online and make it an SVG file? I thought I read that somewhere.

kevinmcc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kevinmcc Posted 16 Jan 2010 , 8:21pm
post #4 of 11