Lastest Trends In Wedding Cakes

Decorating By AfordRN Updated 15 Jan 2010 , 6:48pm by sugaah

AfordRN Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AfordRN Posted 15 Jan 2010 , 4:07pm
post #1 of 9

Can anyone tell me if there is any new trends in wedding cakes?? I am very new to this and would like to be "in on" any trendy things that are happening with wedding cakes. Is there a certain shape?? Square, hex, round? Stripes, gumpaste vs fresh flowers?
Thanks for getting me in the loop icon_wink.gif

8 replies
2SchnauzerLady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2SchnauzerLady Posted 15 Jan 2010 , 4:18pm
post #2 of 9

Bump - nice to see another nurse here!

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 15 Jan 2010 , 4:22pm
post #3 of 9

I don't believe in trends. Here's my blog on why: http://cateritsimple.blogspot.com/search/label/trend

It's such a conflict. We market cakes as "custom designed just for you" and then tell a bride "Oh, here's what you should get because that's what everyone else is getting! It's the latest trend!" icon_confused.gif

For example, you asked about shapes. In my blog is the story of the cake person who told me to take my square cakes off of my website because they weren't "in". Hmmm.... I make and sell more squares than any other shape. Evidently they are "in" with my brides!

I dont' believe in trends and refuse to acknowledge them. A bride can have any cake she wants, whether it's "trendy" or not, whether it's something new that's never been done or whether it's a duplicate of her mother's wedding cake. I just refuse to buy into the marketing schpeal of "trends".

Win Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Win Posted 15 Jan 2010 , 4:39pm
post #4 of 9

That being said... bridal magazines and websites are touting tropical colors as being "hot." ('scuse the pun)

I'm not much on trends either simply because the area in which I live tends to run two years behind in "'trends."