Questions About Ganache Under Fondant

Decorating By __Martha__ Updated 9 Feb 2010 , 12:16am by Rosie2

Darthburn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Darthburn Posted 17 Jan 2010 , 11:49pm
post #31 of 41

Thank you Sandylee - I've been hobby-caking for like 3 years now and just now feel like I am really learning. Something that is nice is the amount of time it takes to make a cake now. Freezing cakes, making fondant the day before... it all seems to really make it go quickly. I did all the fondant covering and decorating in about 4 hours (and it looks like a 4 hour job lol!) but 3 years ago that would have taken me 8 to 12 hours. First time I made my Jack cake took like 17 hours and the second was not only drastically better but only took me 5 hours to make everything and 5 to assemble and decorate. So with time improvements happen icon_smile.gif

You came to the right place for what you have to learn... everyone here has been so helpful, I'm very thankful for them.

Good luck, I know you'll accomplish great feats!

__Martha__ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
__Martha__ Posted 18 Jan 2010 , 12:44am
post #32 of 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandylee05

Hello,
When you are figuring your ratio, do you melt and measure the chocolate or do you weigh the chocolate and the cream?

Thanks!
Sandy

I weighed before doing anything.

Darthburn Posted 18 Jan 2010 , 12:55am
post #33 of 41

Just curious Martha - did 1 pound of cream equal 16oz?

Or are you saying you measured like 3 pounds of chocolate?

I just use 1 pound morsel bags... so I know they are a pound each and a half pint or pint depending on how much I'm making.

icon_smile.gif

verosuperstar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
verosuperstar Posted 18 Jan 2010 , 1:52am
post #34 of 41

I have never used ganache under fondant, in fact I've never used ganache at all. I'll give it a try, it sounds jummie.

mrsmontgomery Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mrsmontgomery Posted 26 Jan 2010 , 2:09am
post #35 of 41