Making Fondant Animals

Decorating By Serene1313 Updated 14 Jan 2010 , 2:51am by Serene1313

Serene1313 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Serene1313 Posted 13 Jan 2010 , 7:00pm
post #1 of 7

Hi. I'm fairly new at making themed cakes. However, I'm about to embark on the ambitious task of making my son a 3-d farm cake for his 2nd b-day. icon_eek.gif i pretty much have figured out how i'm going to make the barn & like that; though, if anyone has any ideas about how to the silo i'm all ears.

my question is regarding making fondant animals. i saw a marshmallow fondant recipe (here on cakecentral) that looks simple enough. so...

question 1: is this a suitable recipe for making animals?

question 2: the recipe discusses how to tint BUT it assumes that you are making one color for the whole batch in that it has you tinting before adding your dry ingredient. what would be anyone's recommendation for tinting smaller "batches" for the animals

question 3: any tips on how to get the best colors? On the fondant do i just use food color or something else?

question 4: how far in advance can i make these animals? if i can do them quite a bit in advance how do i store them?

i appreciate all the help i can get. thanks in advance & happy baking!

6 replies
justsweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
justsweet Posted 13 Jan 2010 , 7:13pm
post #2 of 7

Hi,

I mix 50/50 fondant (wilton (only for figures) mixed with tylose or gumpaste.

You can made way ahead. I have made figures, letters, numbers. etc two weeks or more ahead. They need to air dry, then you can put in a box but do not close the lid all the way you just want to keep the dust off.

I have never used marshmallow fondant. I just get the 50% coupon from Michaels and just that on wilton fondant for figures. I leave my good fondant for cakes.