How To Make A Moist Cake_

Decorating By karukaru Updated 10 Jan 2010 , 2:51pm by karukaru

karukaru Posted 10 Jan 2010 , 2:23am
post #1 of 10

Hi Everyone! I started baking and decorating for fun and now people want to buy cakes from me. I am a newbie so I have many questions regarding baking and decorating and it would be great if you could answer some of them:

1. How do you make a moist cake withouth using pudding? do you add a syropy liquid to the cake after baking it or use oil in the baking?

2. what is tylose for? is it the same as Wilton´s gumtex?

That is it for now. I have many more questions but I will only ask a couple at a time. Thanks for your help! icon_biggrin.gif

9 replies
Deb_ Posted 10 Jan 2010 , 2:28am
post #2 of 10

Hi and welcome.

I think the main reason why some people's cakes come out dry is over baking. Of course the recipe/method used is important, but proper baking time is even more important.

I use my nose to gauge baking time. When I can smell cake, I know it's close to being finished. The more you bake the easier this will be.

Some people use a simple syrup to moisten up their cake, but I don't particularly care for the result that produces.

Tylose.....one use is, when mixed with fondant it will help your figures dry quicker and harder. It is also used in my gumpaste recipe.

dsilbern Posted 10 Jan 2010 , 2:34am
post #3 of 10

I add sour cream to keep cakes moist. Works great!

karukaru Posted 10 Jan 2010 , 2:35am
post #4 of 10

Thank you!
So tylose is like gumtex then? i took the wilton classes and they said that gumtex will make the fondant dry harder and quicker.