Very Very Silly I Know...but How?

Decorating By Taigen Updated 10 Jan 2010 , 8:52pm by Mug-a-Bug

Taigen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Taigen Posted 9 Jan 2010 , 11:27pm
post #1 of 12

I know this is really a very silly question at this point but I will ask anyway. I am a hobby baker so have no expetice at all, but I try. I don't get the opportunity to bake often but tomorrow is my sons birthday. Normally this family NEVER eats cake (which is why I have no practice!) but today my son wants a cake for his birthday.....TOMORROW!

Okay...so cake is baked, crumb coated...good idea of what to do except....I plan on doing a "bottle cap" cake of a budwiezer beer cap.
I have left over fondant from a recent cake I made for a friend but am wondering......
HOW DO I MAKE FONDANT RED for tomorrow.?

I sent older son out to the liguor store to buy vodka for painting but I don't think that will be red enough...any suggestions?

Thanks
Taigen

11 replies
Deb_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Deb_ Posted 9 Jan 2010 , 11:38pm
post #2 of 12

Do you have red gel color? You'll need to just kneed it in to the fondant, it takes a LOT of red gel to get the red color though.

Another option is to just mix a little vodka or lemon extract with some gel color and paint it on the fondant (after it's on the cake).

Good luck!

rezzygirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rezzygirl Posted 9 Jan 2010 , 11:38pm
post #3 of 12

Do you have red food coloring? If so just knead the color and wrap tightly so it doesn't harden/dry out. By tomorrow it will be nice and red (the color deepens overnight). HTH

Taigen Posted 9 Jan 2010 , 11:47pm
post #4 of 12

yes...I have both the gel food colouring and I sent older son out to the liguor store for vodka haha! I will knead it together tonight and hope it turns a nice red....thanks all....I really do appreciate your replys.
Especially since I seldom have insight to give.
Thank you
Taigen

jamiekwebb Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile