Please Help Me!

Decorating By misscrosson Updated 8 Jan 2010 , 4:34am by misscrosson

misscrosson Posted 8 Jan 2010 , 3:21am
post #1 of 9

I'm making a birthday cake for my sister... I'll get started on it tomorrow morning, the cake has to be ready by Saturday night....

I'm going to do two layers, I've never done this before.... how do I make sure the two layers stay stuck together? also, how can i safely put icing in between each individual layer, or should i just leave it plan cake?

This is the cake im attempting to do:
http://www.weddingandpartynetwork.com/gallery/photos/2326

but, pokadots on the bottom, the strips on the top... and big numbers 26 at the top.... how do I get the numbers 26 to stick on the top? also, is it safe to make them out of fondant?

How do you successfully do strips on a cake? yikes.... i think ive bitten off more then i could chew...

also will the bow and 26 dry in time for saturday if made tomorrow? or, any tips on making them??? thanks!!

8 replies
PatricesPieces Posted 8 Jan 2010 , 3:55am
post #2 of 9

I would bake on Thurs and put a crumbcoat on to give the cakes time to settle. Frost and cover in fondant on friday. I assume by "two layers" you are meaning two tiers. You will need to put dowel rods in the cake for support. There are tutorials on CC about putting a cake together. Here is one... http://cakecentral.com/articles/107/building-the-cake-combination-pillar-stacked-construction
You can make the number 26 out of gumpaste. I would recommend making the bow and number first so it has plenty of time to dry. Make them tonight if you can. You can insert a skewer into the bottom of each number and then push down into the cake or use lollipop stick to support it. There is a bow tutorial as well. http://cakecentral.com/articles/77/how-to-make-a-fondant-loop-bow

I hope this helps. Good luck and post the picture when you are done!!

cathyscakes Posted 8 Jan 2010 , 4:00am
post #3 of 9