What Would You Charge For This Cake?? Please Help!

Decorating By Melinda3 Updated 13 Jan 2010 , 9:05pm by Mike1394

Melinda3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Melinda3 Posted 7 Jan 2010 , 11:59pm
post #1 of 11

Hi, so I made this open basket cake with red roses. I only charged for what it took to make it because it was a friend of mine. What would you have charged if you didn't know the person or if it was a friend of a friend?

Also, I have an order coming up the end of this month for a 6 year old, who wants a bakugan cake. So, I was going to make a sheet cake then use the wilton ball pan to make a bakugan ball cake on top. She is also a friend and I have no idea what to charge her. I'm new at this and I don't want to charge to much because I want to make all the cakes I can right now. I don't want her to say never mind.

10 replies
prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 8 Jan 2010 , 12:47am
post #2 of 11

Need more information. What size/how many servings was the rose baket cake? Was the basket part covered in BC or fondant? Were the roses BC or gumpaste/fondant? How many roses were there?

As for the other cake, also need more info regarding the size. "Sheet Cakes" come in many sizes (some common sizes are 9x13, 11x15, 12x18, 24x1icon_cool.gif.

Oh, and just FYI, it is not legal to sell cakes with a design of a licensed character without permission from the copywright holder AND in most counties in GA, it is not legal to sell cakes out of your home (some counties do if you get your home kitchen health inspected and licensed).

Melinda3 Posted 8 Jan 2010 , 6:02am
post #3 of 11

Thank you for your reply! The open basket cake was a 2 layer 9" round cake. With creamcheese filling and covered with BC. There were 8 roses that were also BC. The open "lid" on the basket was white chocolate.
The other cake needs to feed 30-40 people so I guess I was thinking of making a 9x13 sheet cake.

Melinda3 Posted 8 Jan 2010 , 6:05am
post #4 of 11