I've Never Done This Before

Baking By Alaskahsm Updated 13 Jan 2010 , 1:23pm by GeminiRJ

Alaskahsm Posted 7 Jan 2010 , 7:56pm
post #1 of 7

Hi there
I signed up for a cake show in the confection category and then wondered what I had done. I want to do this just to challenge myself, but I have never done this before. Any advice?
Kim

6 replies
GeminiRJ Posted 9 Jan 2010 , 4:55pm
post #2 of 7

I took a peak at your photos, and you should have no trouble competing! Just do something that you are particularly good at, and pay attention to the details. Have patience, and take the time to go the extra mile. Make sure you also give your attention to the presentation board. Lots of decorators forget this detail. Good luck!

sweet12 Posted 9 Jan 2010 , 5:40pm
post #3 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeminiRJ

I took a peak at your photos, and you should have no trouble competing! Just do something that you are particularly good at, and pay attention to the details. Have patience, and take the time to go the extra mile. Make sure you also give your attention to the presentation board. Lots of decorators forget this detail. Good luck!

Whats on the presentation board? Just wondering--ive never done any shows before.

Win Posted 9 Jan 2010 , 6:04pm
post #4 of 7

All competitions differ; however, most have basic criteria for judging in common. I compete in Cincinnati and this is a page from their criteria:
----------------------------------------
JUDGING CRITERIA GUIDELINES AND TIPS
NEATNESS
No knife strokes, air bubbles, or sanding marks should be visible in cake covering. Borders should be
uniform with no visible stops or starts. It is best to use a grease proof covering on the cake board that will
not absorb grease or food coloring.
CAKE BOARD
Use a board at least 2 larger than size of cake. Ex: A 10 cake should be on at least a 12 board. Board
should be suitable for the size and weight of cake. Ex: A large tiered cake should have a thicker board