What Kind Of Actual Cake Do You Use?

Decorating By LindsyLee Updated 8 Jan 2010 , 1:42am by sweet12

LindsyLee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LindsyLee Posted 7 Jan 2010 , 4:37pm
post #1 of 12

I am really new to this, I was wondering what kind of cake do you use?? I've heard of people using pound cake but does that taste good to eat? I've tried box mixes too. Any suggestions thanks!

11 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 7 Jan 2010 , 4:50pm
post #2 of 12

what kind of cake to use for WHAT? Just general caking? I offer 30 different flavors.

I can't believe you're asking if pound cake tastes good. The answer to that is yes, absolutely.

LindsyLee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LindsyLee Posted 7 Jan 2010 , 4:59pm
post #3 of 12

Maybe its just me but your response wasnt the most pleasent. Anyhow.. I've had poundcake before I just know its pretty heavy and I've never used frosting on it only jams. Also when I asked what kind of cake do you use I ment just that in general for anything..round cakes, square cakes, wedding birthdays etc... What holds up the best, whats easier to decorate what tastes the best.. brands, etc. Sorry if I was vague.

alene Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alene Posted 7 Jan 2010 , 5:05pm
post #4 of 12

I normally use different versions of the wasc cake from here on CC. Everyone loves the white almond and the chocolate.

lardbutt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lardbutt Posted 7 Jan 2010 , 5:09pm
post #5 of 12

Here is a link to a very popular cake that begins with a mix....
http://cakecentral.com/recipes/7445/the-original-wasc-cake-recipe

Hope that helps and welcome to Cake Central!

KateLS Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KateLS Posted 7 Jan 2010 , 5:11pm
post #6 of 12