Pastillage? Help

Decorating By Ritakk Updated 11 Jan 2010 , 2:08pm by Ritakk

Ritakk Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ritakk Posted 6 Jan 2010 , 3:38pm
post #1 of 22

I just ran across Pastillage! I am wanting to make the baby booties, and converse shoes here on CC. I have never worked with it before. Question there are a couple recipes here on CC for it. One recipe has basic ingredients that I have at home... I am wanting to know if you have used this recipe and how you like it. Can the booties, and shoes I want to make be made of this pastillage? Or should I make a clay shoe first then apply the Pastillage over and use it as a mold? Help me please I can't get to the forums where they talk about this don't know why, but if there is a forum question already asked please post the link so I can get to it. TY very much!
Rita

21 replies
Shannie13 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Shannie13 Posted 6 Jan 2010 , 3:44pm
post #2 of 22

I have found that working with Pastillage that it drys very quickly and if you don't work fast enough it can crack and develop an elephant skin. It does dry rock hard, so the shoes can be kept. I normally make boxes out of it for customers who want something a little special or to put a piece of jewelry in as a surprise. For the shoes...don't know but I wish you the best of luck with it!

tiggy2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggy2 Posted 6 Jan 2010 , 3:59pm
post #3 of 22

I made my booties out of gum paste and they worked just fine.

Ritakk Posted 6 Jan 2010 , 8:23pm
post #4 of 22

Tiggy2, How thick did you roll your fondant for the booties? Have you worked with Pastillage before? Did you like it?

Shannie13 - When you say dries very quickly, how quickly are we talking? If I cut out my patterns one piece at a time and work with them, shouldn't it work if I have a dummy model to put the pastillage on and shape it?

I think I will try both ways. I like the idea of her saving the booties if they come out nice.... thanks.
Rita