Did Everyone Who Owns A Business Go To School For This?

Business By mamafox Updated 6 Jan 2010 , 2:11am by morgnscakes

mamafox Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamafox Posted 5 Jan 2010 , 5:01pm
post #1 of 19

I was planning on going back to school to become a pastry chef but just found out the program is not available. I have to go for the full culinary chef program. I have been doing cakes, cookies, candies etc. from my home for years. I have taken the wilton classes but I am mostly self taught. I do not have a licensed kithchen so i do this for practice and the fun for family and friends. I want to open a place but feel lost on how. I turn business away all the time bc i am not licensed. I am turning 40 in a few weeks and really want to do this. I am tired of doing what I need to do. I want to do what I want to do now! Mid life crisis?! Maybe. Just wondered how all of you got your start. Thanks.

18 replies
muddpuppy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
muddpuppy Posted 5 Jan 2010 , 5:28pm
post #2 of 19

I did not go to school. I am completely self taught, the internet is a wealth of info!! And I am a business owner... I say go for it...

HarleyDee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HarleyDee Posted 5 Jan 2010 , 5:50pm
post #3 of 19

I wanted so badly to go to school for it, but the university I attended didn't offer a culinary program of any kind. Of course 2 years after I graduated they started one, pfft. icon_razz.gif

Is it the big scale baking/decorating part that has you lost, or the actual opening a business part?

There is an office for the Small Business Administration is just about every city, and they helped me with all of the business stuff. (I'm smart with cakes and baking, dumb with taxes!) icon_smile.gif

CakeForte Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeForte Posted 5 Jan 2010 , 6:03pm
post #4 of 19