How Did You Learn?

Decorating By BillieH Updated 5 Jan 2010 , 4:40pm by CookieSue

BillieH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BillieH Posted 4 Jan 2010 , 5:53pm
post #1 of 22

For all you pros and hobbyist I'm curious: How did you learn to decorate? Did you take classes? Self taught?

I'm a dabbler, self taught. Trial and error; that's me. icon_biggrin.gif
(I've got a lot more trial and error in my future lol)

21 replies
MalibuBakinBarbie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MalibuBakinBarbie Posted 4 Jan 2010 , 6:16pm
post #2 of 22

Hi BillieH! I took one class at a local high school (offered through an adult continuing education booklet). It wasn't a Wilton class, just basic decorating. I loved it ~ but then I always enjoyed baking so it was a natural next step I was excited to explore. Anyway, I am primarily self-taught through books (mostly) and some videos. I have taken a couple courses with Ms. Eleanor Rielander, all very fun, special and memorable experiences for me. icon_smile.gif I am a hobby baker; but if I could, I would definitely go to culinary school! thumbs_up.gif

G_Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
G_Cakes Posted 4 Jan 2010 , 6:21pm
post #3 of 22

I am a hands on kind of gal, although I have taken a few Wilton's courses I would have to say I am more self taught.

I checked out a whole whack of books from my local library and you tube is amazing for do it yourself videos...

CC has been bar far the best tool I have learn from icon_smile.gif

Donnagardner Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Donnagardner Posted 4 Jan 2010 , 6:38pm
post #4 of 22

Trial and error for me and LOTS of looking on here!! These guys and girls can teach you lots of stuff.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 4 Jan 2010 , 6:55pm
post #5 of 22

self-taught, all the way.