Can You Help Me With Wilton Class Info?

Lounge By JustToEatCake Updated 5 Jan 2010 , 1:26am by JustToEatCake

JustToEatCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JustToEatCake Posted 3 Jan 2010 , 5:49am
post #1 of 9

So I start the Wilton class next week. I usually read a lot and am self taught in most things but I saw that Hobby Lobby had a special 17.50 for the class and a 15.00 certificate off anything online from their new website. Anyway I signed up and went through my book and bought the few remaining things that are in the Course 1 that I didn't have.

I have a couple of questions.
1. Do we need to use the Wilton buttercream recipe?
2. Can I make a different design than the rainbow cake the first time?
3. My Course 1 book didn't come with a "diploma" like I have seen some online come with, is it missing something? I mean just in case I pass..lol
4. I think it says one nite we have to bring a 10" cake but I have 8" and 9" cake pans does it HAVE to be the exact size?
5. What do you find is the best way to transport your cake?
6. I saw SOMEWHERE where they had variations of the clown design that is made during this course, like a monkey or a bear does anyone know where this is?
7. It says in the course book NOT to use parchment or waxed paper to cook the layers BUT only use Wilton pan release, they said "this was very important" which seems like a sales ploy.

Whew lots of questions, thanks for any info and help.

8 replies
JustToEatCake Posted 3 Jan 2010 , 6:04pm
post #2 of 9

Anyone?

Elcee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Elcee Posted 3 Jan 2010 , 6:45pm
post #3 of 9

It's been about 2 years since I took Wilton classes but my instructor was really flexible and never insisted on anything being exact. I never made the clowns...they freaked me out a little and so I made a cake with drop flowers on it instead.

Cakepro Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakepro Posted 3 Jan 2010 , 7:57pm
post #4 of 9