Pillsbury Bakers Plus Cake Mix

Business By cinderella75 Updated 26 Aug 2014 , 6:21pm by Cevamal

Goldenbride75 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Goldenbride75 Posted 25 Jul 2014 , 3:26am
post #31 of 39

Thanks for the break down of the water/oil additions!

I followed this, but my last (ok, my first!) batch came out as though I added waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too much water, and it fell as soon as I took it out-even after an extra ten minutes of baking.

I am no professional baker, but I can follow directions very well!

Ideas??

cakegrandma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakegrandma Posted 25 Jul 2014 , 3:50am
post #32 of 39

I'm not sure what may have happened as I made many cakes from the 50 pound bag and all turned out fine.  Not doubting that you follow directions well and all I can say is did you weigh your ingredients?  I even weigh my water when I use the large mix.  The cups are not standardized in the US and it is better to weigh it also.  Try again and I hope all works out for you.  ;-D

Goldenbride75 Posted 26 Jul 2014 , 12:58pm
post #33 of 39

Maybe that is what I did wrong-I measured, instead of weighed the ingredients.  I will pick up a food scale this weekend and try weighing.

Thanks Dear!!!

Goldenbride75 Posted 30 Jul 2014 , 5:36pm
post #34 of 39

Ok everyone!

I did purchase a food scale, and did the actual weighing of the ingredients instead of mathematical calculations (3lbs=48 oz=6cups) and 3 pounds of powder mix was equivalent to EIGHT cups.

For anyone that wants to use the 50# Pillsbury bakers plus Devils Food mix for small amounts of cake (this made 28 cupcakes)

1. 4 cups of powdered mix (should weigh one and a half pounds);

add 6oz. water;  mix on low one minute, scrape.

2. Then add 5 more ounces of water over one minute, then mix on medium for 2 minutes; scrape.

3. Add another five ounces of water, along with three ounces of oil, mix on low two minutes; scrape.

The above made 28 cupcakes.