Gingerbread! A Little Late For This Year, Planning For Next!

Baking By MBHazel Updated 30 Dec 2009 , 8:04am by Choc-Ice

MBHazel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MBHazel Posted 25 Dec 2009 , 1:53am
post #1 of 13

So, I am thinking about having a gingerbread house decorating party NEXT year. I have limited experience with gingerbread houses so I have a question. Would I be able to pre-make the pieces and freeze them? Will freezing have a negative affect on the stability for the gingerbread?

I don't want to do an extremely simple design (like the small kits) I would rather do 2 styles that are a bit larger than the packaged ones.

Do you think that would work as a party for about 10 guests?

Thanks a bunch!! Merry Christmas to you all.

Hazel

12 replies
kiki07 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kiki07 Posted 25 Dec 2009 , 5:04am
post #2 of 13

I have never frozen them so I can't answer that part, but I would start with a simple design for the houses and make them look fancy/ intricate with the decorations you put on/ in them. If you want the guest to be able to take their creations home you should have one per family as well as some way to transport them. Will you build them ahead of time and just let them decorate them? It takes some time for royal icing to dry enough to transport.

TracyLH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TracyLH Posted 25 Dec 2009 , 5:19pm
post #3 of 13

You have such a cute and fun idea and I agree that making the pieces ahead of time is a wonderful idea. When I did a small gingerbread house decorating party, the guests left the houses behind to dry as we did full assembly. Kiki's idea is great to do the basic construction in advance. They can still do a lot of the work at your house, depending on how intricate they want to go.