Buttercream Question

Decorating By vandru10 Updated 22 Dec 2009 , 6:34am by madgeowens

vandru10 Posted 22 Dec 2009 , 3:12am
post #1 of 7

I am new to the world of cake decorating and was wondering what the difference is between crusting and non crusting buttercream???!!!

Any answers will be helpful!

6 replies
indydebi Posted 22 Dec 2009 , 3:40am
post #2 of 7

Welcome to CC, the best resource for all things cake!

A crusting buttercream will get a slight "hard crust" on the outside, while still remaining soft and creamy inside. When icing slightly crusts, it helps to enable you to smooth icing, holds the shape of roses, borders and other decors.

I'm a little biased but here is my icing recipe that I've used for 30 years. It crusts really well and holds up in extreme outdoor heat. It's gotten lots of rave reviews here on CC. http://cakecentral.com/recipes/author/indydebi

My favorite method to smooth a crusting buttercream is the Melvira method: http://cakecentral.com/articles/126/quick-easy-smooth-icing-using-a-roller-melvira-method Once I discovered this method, I never used anything else and I love how my cakes look now!

A non-crusting buttercream stays soft after it's on the cake. I've never used a non-crusting, so I can't tell you much about it. I'm sure other CC'ers, who have a much higher expertise than I, will pop in here and help you out.

Texas_Rose Posted 22 Dec 2009 , 3:49am
post #3 of 7

Don't let Indydebi's modesty fool you, she is the Buttercream Goddess!!!

Her recipe is the best that I've ever tried. It tastes great and it's really easy to work with. It's the first buttercream that has ever worked right for me, and when you use her recipe and the Melvira method together, it works so well and is so easy that even my husband can make a perfectly smooth cake icon_biggrin.gif

indydebi Posted 22 Dec 2009 , 5:53am
post #4 of 7